Words sound so sweet

When you’re weary, feeling small,
When tears are in your eyes, I will dry them all;
I’m on your side. When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

~Bridge Over Troubled Water

When I first heard this song, many years ago, I thought the words were so beautiful. When I was a teen my friends and I frequented music stores besides buying records (LPs and tapes, hard to believe those existed) I would buy music sheets of the songs that I love and “Bridge Over Troubled Water” was one of them (I don’t know what I did with them or even if I still have them).

I thought how wonderful it would be to have a “boyfriend” that would be a “true” friend. A boyfriend that would be around when I’m happy, sad, angry, needed comfort, cheer me up when I’m depressed, all the components of a friend, a companion. This has become such a desperate act that I would accept any “guy” and thought that could “live” up to my expectations, force him to live up to the words of that song, even though he really had no interest, when his interest were truly sexual. It took years for me to realize I can’t force anyone to accept me for who I am when they really don’t want to, I have to accept myself.

I still have the dream of finding that companion that could live up to those wonderful words, but I’m not going to force anyone to accept me. I accept me and that’s good enough and it no longer matters if I don’t find that companion because I love myself enough that I’m perfectly okay not being in a relationship. Life teaches us what is really important, it is important to love yourself, self-love is a need, this makes life enjoyable and peaceful. Being in a relationship should be a want, not a need, definitely not a way to feel fulfillment and peace.

4 thoughts on “Words sound so sweet

  1. I agree,life is ours too mold into what we want it to be.We can never make anyone except and love us the way we want.I have embraced and loving my singleness .:-)

Leave a Reply

