Sleepless in Terminal B

 

 

This is my attempt to the daily writing prompt from the Daily Post. The prompt is as follows: You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

I arrived at the airport extra early only to find out that my flight will be delayed for six more hours. I sigh in disbelief and anger, I did all this extra work:  packing early, put the luggage at the door, made sure my boarding tickets were in my small purse, putting all my toiletries in a plastic bag, putting snacks in my small purse,  laying my clothes out for the day, getting up very early to make sure I’m ready for my limousine ride to the airport, I felt good inside. I felt what a great accomplishment. I was prepared only to find out once I looked on the destination board that the plane will be delayed for six hours.  I have six hours to do what? What am I going to do with myself for six hours?  So sadly I walked over to the check in desk, checked in my boarding pass, then walked over to the roll of seats and sat down. I took out my tablet.

“Great, no signal, no connection!” “What am I going to do now?”

I look around the airport terminal, watching some people. Some are listening to music on their iPods or mp3, others are reading a newspaper or magazine, then there are some that are  napping. Being that I foolishly left my book at home, my best solution was to nap so I pulled out my sunglasses, slouched back in my “comfortable” seat, put the sunglasses on my face and attempt to take a nap, hopefully in peace.

After a few moments I got the feeling that someone was staring at me, then I heard a voice.

“Looks like everyone got the same idea.”  ” I wish I could sleep at an airport terminal, I just can’t seem to sleep, too much traffic, to busy.”

I sighed.

I am trying to take a nap, can’t you see that?

“I’m sorry I’m disturbing you, it gets lonely when you’re traveling alone, sometimes when you need some one to talk to.”

Thank you, now go away. I moved my sunglasses down to the tip of my nose.

“I would just like to take a nap, I can’t sleep on the plane, the ride makes me too nervous…so if you don’t mind…”

“I understand, I’m just going to walk around, clear my head, maybe I can find someone else to talk to…someone who’s nice.”

We smirked at each other. He walked away towards another terminal, carrying his duffel bag and I put the glasses over my eyes and tried once again to take a nap. Then it happened again, this time it was a couple who decided to sit beside me to have an argument. I tried my best to ignore them, but they kept getting louder as if they were purposefully trying to annoy me because I was desperately trying to ignore them. Then they started to hit each other, I pushed my glasses down again, glared at them.

The guy said “Sorry, madam we’re just having a disagreement, sorry to disturb you.”

They both got up, walked quickly towards the next terminal, still arguing, the girl is pushing the guy as they are walking.

I sigh, once again I put the sunglasses over my eyes, lay my head back, trying to nap.

Why isn’t anyone else being disturbed, why am I being disturbed, am I wearing a sign that says, please disturb me?

There was a long period of silence, at least there seemed to be, then came a bunch of kids, not just kids, noisy kids. They were screaming, fussing, laughing and playing.

No peace for the weary.

Then the terminal started to get crowded and noisy, my hopes for a nap took off into the air, somewhere, too bad I’m stuck in this terminal with all these people and bratty kids and I did not even get my much deserved and needed nap. So I sat up,with a frown upon my face, my sunglasses are now in my hands, just watching kids screaming, fussing, and laughing, couples arguing, and the terminal busy as ever and me sleepless in Terminal B for the next 5  hours and 30 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Sleepless in Terminal B

  1. I have had that experience in India. The worst was when I had to catch a 6 am flight. The damn thing left at 12 noon. Things have improved since those early days!

Leave a Reply

