Music to the ears

 

 

ww2.d155.org

ww2.d155.org

There’s very few things that gets on my nerve, okay there may be many, but some phases my mind or “nerves” just can’t tolerate. When my son says, “Whatever,” this does not get under my skin, I don’t know why, but I’m able to ignore it, like raindrops rolling down my back. But when he says, “My Bad,” it reminds me of the time when I was in school, the teacher used a chalk holder to make lines on the blackboard and as she was bringing this across the board it would make a horrific screeching sound that hurts the ear, this is how I feel whenever my teenage son uses this term. It gets under my skin.

Now I know how my mother felt when I over used certain terms or spoke slang. I’m sure she wanted to choke me whenever I was talking slang. I could remember the stares I got when I used certain terms. If I could, I would apologize to her, but I know someday my son when he is an adult and if he has a child or two (hopefully no more than two) and they start to talk “slang” he will feel unnerving or agitated. Maybe he will apologize to me for getting underneath my skin. Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

