Lost But not Forgotten

"class is in session"

“class is in session”

 Oh wow! I remember this. I said to myself as I was looking through a box for something, I now forgot what I was searching for, probably a book to read to my toddler son, I came across this book report I did when I was in the fourth grade. I remember the whole process. It started out as a book report I had to do for my class, the teacher gave us a choice of what person to choose but begged us not to choose the usual persons; Harriet Tubman, Frederick Douglass, Martin Luther King, Jr., or Paul Laurence Dunbar, please search for someone not regularly heard about.  So I chose Dr. Charles Drew and this was a learning experience even though I tried to take the lazy way out.

My mother wanted me to read and really learn something new, which I did, reluctantly, I think what was on my mind at the time was going outside to play. So I finally finished the book report, I even put effort into the book cover, I was able to trace and color pictures very good so that is what I did, I carefully traced and colored Dr. Drew’s portrait.

My teacher was impressed and wanted me to re-do the report for a contest for a chance to win a hundred dollars savings bond for first place, seventy-five dollars savings bond for second place and fifty dollars savings bond for third place. I wasn’t really excited about this, I wasn’t going to tell my mother but miraculously she knew by the time I got home, so much for that brilliant idea. I spent the next two days re-writing the report and the cover page.

By the end of the contest I managed to win second place, I was surprised, mildly excited and somewhat proud. Seeing this book report brought back some pleasant memories, the memories everyone love. Struggling with my mother doing this report, wanting to do nothing but play, my mother “forcing” me to put my best foot forward and having it all work out for the best when I won seventy-five dollars even though it was a savings bond.

For Writing 101 Assignment Day Sixteen the goal is to  imagine you work in a place where you manage lost or forgotten items. What might you find in the pile? For those participating in our serial challenge, reflect on the theme of “lost and found,” too.

Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile. I  took a little different approach.

 

Leave a Reply

