Acceptance

breakyourlimits-demarco.blogspot.com

breakyourlimits-demarco.blogspot.com

Accepting and appreciating myself is a constant work in progress. Some days are difficult my mind will be full of self-doubt and self-criticism. If you search the internet on increasing self-esteem it is loaded with seemingly good ideas. I’m not saying reading self-improvement books, inspirational quotes and listening to motivational speeches don’t work, but these are tools, tools that can be used when needed, for me I need these daily, sometimes I listen to these inspirational pod-casts and audio, other times reading inspirational quotes work for me.

I have found that using some of these tools are beginning to be embedded into my mind and heart, now all is needed for these sayings to become an essential part of my soul. It’s difficult for me to accept myself sometimes, it’s a daily struggle for me, but I accept myself much more now than I did when I was in high school or college, but like I said, I’m a work in progress.

I started to focus on things that matters. Since I’m dealing with chronic pain I have shift my focus from body image, because it is my body that has betrayed me, or maybe it’s me that betrayed my body, I don’t know what came first, but I had to start focusing on other things instead of body image, I’m starting to focus on my accomplishments, not large accomplishments like attending and graduating college, but smaller accomplishments like completing daily tasks, those things I must do. I admit, I get discouraged when I think about the things I need to do, but I have to find something, something to bring me out of the hole so that I can accomplish my goal or goals and start to feel good about myself. This has made me start accepting me, appreciating me, and loving me. I have started to take interest in various hobbies so that I can begin to feel good. I’m not there yet, truly accepting myself, but I will get there, I will truly appreciate and accept myself. It takes work, commitment and determination, but in the long run it’s worth the trip.

Here is a link to a blog about acceptance, constant acceptance, the constant work and determination about self-acceptance.  I’m sure there are many more blogs about acceptance, but doing my reading this is one of the blogs I came across about dealing, coping and living with self- acceptance.

http://kiramoorescloset.wordpress.com/2014/04/20/and-so-here-we-are/

http://kiramoorescloset.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. Keeping yourself busy is vital for not dwelling in your anxiety. It is the most productive thing you can do for yourself. Fulfilling hobbies then in turn give you a sense of accomplishment. That’s my motto – stay busy, stay happy!

Leave a Reply

