First Day

My long time girlfriend and I met while I attended first grade. I remember this like it was my actual first day of school. I was this loner who was better playing alone than with others, but when one day my one friend was not in school, little did I know I would meet another friend who would turn out to be my long time friend. In response to a Daily Prompt, I am to re-write this scene but in the other person’s perspective. So here it goes.

I saw her playing all by herself underneath a tree. She was lining up rocks and sticks making them act like kids, I never saw anyone play like this. She was so tiny, so scrawny, I thought she was in kindergarten but I realized this could not be right because the play yard was full of first and second graders. She can’t be a second grader, she’s too small. She’s too small to be a first grader. Maybe she’s someone’s kid, but I don’t see no parent. I walked up to her and introduced myself.

“Hello!”

She looked up at me.

“Hey!”

“Are you lost?”

Playing with her make believe dolls. “No!”

“You go here?”

She looked up at me again, this time she gave me a puzzled look.

“Yes!, Why?”

“You’re so tiny.”

“I’m in the first grade, I’m suppose to be tiny.”

“Not that tiny.” “What are you doing?”

“Playing.”

“I know that.” “I mean what are you playing.”

“I’m just playing.”

“I never saw anyone play like you.”

She just playing with her rocks and sticks not paying me no mind.

“You’re playing by yourself?” “I mean don’t you have any friends?”

Still playing with the rocks and sticks, not looking at me. “I have one friend but she did not come to school today so I’m playing by myself.”

“Isn’t that kind of….weird?”

Looking up at me this time giving me a “mean” look. “I’m an only child…it’s not weird!”

“Oh!, that explains it.”

There was some moments of silence and I’m feeling a bit uneasy.

“My name is Dolores.”

“My name is LaDonna.”

“That’s a weird name.”

“You have to take that up with my mother.”

I laughed then she laughed.

“Do you want to be friends?”

“Yeah, I guess.”

“I feel the need to protect you, like a little sister or cousin.”

“Yeah, you are kind of big.” Giving me a puzzling look. “Are you a….second grader?”

“No!” “I’m in the first.” “I’m just very tall…and big.”

“I have to say I don’t see many first graders your size…at least not girls.”

She smiled, I smiled back.

Since then we became best friends for life. Yes we had our arguments and moments we did not speak to each other. We grew up, had separate lives, but never apart. We can both say that our friendship outlasted any of our relationships with men.

Leave a Reply

