Charisma

What makes a good storyteller?  When I was young attending elementary school there was once this young boy whom I thought was a great storyteller. He knew exactly how to draw people in…creating and keeping his audience. He was very entertaining and engaging, it was more than the words he used it was his tone, voice, and style all the elements that make up a good story. The way he acted out his words to the story was like that of a mime, a clown, or a comedian. This young boy was a character on its own, he too, just like the characters he created was very colorful, charismatic, he kind of reminded me of Red Skeleton or any of the earlier comedians (I’m sure I just told my age here), and he had the ability, the talent to make people really like him, or admire him even when they did not want to.

I thought he was very creative, inventive beyond his age, even though the stories he told may have not been true he seem to make them believable not only to me but to many of the school mates. He led me to want to know, live with, these characters. He told stories of his family, their crazy acts, behavior and beliefs. My young “friend” really kept us entertained on boring recess days, he had the ability to make us laugh especially when he would act out the voices and actions of his characters.

With this in mind that is what makes a good storyteller having the ability to keep the audience entertained through words, opening the imagination by being very descriptive, creating vivid images. Having the ability to create emotions rather it’s laughter, love, sadness, or happiness. A good storyteller have the skill to make the audience fall in love with or hate the characters, create the desire to want to tag along for the adventure, more importantly a good storyteller moves the audience in some sort of way either by causing the desire to act or react.

I hope someday to be this good storyteller. I believe it takes time sometimes it’s dependent on how I, as the storyteller, is moved by the story I have to tell. So what do you think are the qualities of a good storyteller.

This post is in response to the Daily Prompt: Spinning Yarns, what makes a good storyteller.

Leave a Reply

