I Resolve to….

It’s already that time of year again. The New Year’s Resolution!  I’m not one for the “New Year’s Resolution.”  What does resolution really mean anyway?  I believe in making constant efforts in improving myself. Everyday I try to think more positive. I’m always reading positive affirmations, I admit reading inspiring affirmations can get overwhelming, sometimes I wonder if I truly believe in these sayings, but  a couple of things I have learned to do; one is to find one thing to which to be grateful, it could be simple such as being able to see the sunrise or being able to drink one cup of coffee, the other thing that I have learned is to do one thing or task that will make happy, this is usually easy too, sometimes it’s petting my cat, but mostly it’s taking photos of various scenery (Sometimes my cat can get quite ornery so I have to find some other thing to make me smile).

I would like to become a better writer. Everyday I make efforts to write something other than my to do list (which seems to get longer and longer, but I’m not complaining, really).

I do set goals, sometimes unrealistic like publishing a novel in 2 or 3 months, I don’t think is an obtainable goal for me, but it is a goal I would like to accomplish someday, but not 2 or 3 months. I’m always working on improving time management and I admit, sometimes I come very short in accomplishing this goal. But I am particularly proud that I’m making a conscious effort to read more often. I have created a Good-reads account to help me along with achieving this goal. Last year I was a bit too ambitious, I had set a goal of reading 70 books by the end of the year, well maybe it wasn’t too ambitious, I did come close, I read 60 books, not so bad. This year I set a goal to read 40 books, I’ve come short again, I’ve only read 27 books. Does the fact that some of the books I read were really large books of 400 pages or more? Okay…it’s just an excuse.

I do think setting goals are essential part of life, but I believe these goals should be realistic and obtainable. I think that we should be easy on ourselves, it’s okay for our goals to change, to be revamped, or “canned,” it doesn’t mean that we have failed, and so what, it’s okay to “fail,” as long as we don’t give up on life.

Leave a Reply

