Keep it Simple

One time I brought my cat a bunch of toys and accessories, I must had spent over $60 trying to keep him entertained and happy. When the package comes I show him his toys and other accessories and what happens, he takes interest in the cardboard box. I became frustrated about the amount of money I spent for his toys and all he wanted was to play in the box. I would had been better off going to the corner store and ask for some cardboard boxes, something I did not have to pay money.

Another time I spent $40 for a pet bed, does he lie in it, or sleep in it, no, he sleeps on the sofa, the ragged arm-chair, the bed. Another money wasted. Casey, my cat taught me to keep it simple. So that’s what I started to do, keeping it simple, he likes to play with the aluminum foil, it doesn’t really cost me extra money, he also likes to play with yarn, this cost me $1 at the dollar store.

Why do people pay hundreds or thousands of dollars for designer clothes or accessories, when they clearly can not afford them? Who are they trying to impress? Does it really matter that you are wearing a designer item? Does it make you more important than someone who does not wear designer clothes or shoes or carry a designer bag? Could all that money paid for one item be put to better use, instead of paying $1000 for a designer bag could that $1000 be spent on a vacation that could be much more enjoyable and worthwhile, or pay on a bill, or purchase multiple items instead of one item.

Sometimes it’s worth to keeping things simple. I had a Marketing Professor who tried to embed this in his students minds. If we pay attention, pets and young children also seem to teach us this. They don’t always play with the expensive toys, they seem to go for the simplest items like cardboard boxes. If we keep things simple we realize what is really important, it’s not important to have that trendy item, it’s important to have good memories, be resourceful, smarter and wiser with the choices we make.

6 thoughts on “Keep it Simple

  1. I can so relate to this … and my cat can too!

    If I buy a designer bag for a thousand bucks … who will really notice, and why would that be important?! I had to really love the bag a lot in order to buy such a thing.

Leave a comment